So it’s 2002 and I’ve just turned 30 single mum and about to go out for new year and meet this guy who is what I thought was ants pants. Typical man who rode a bike had a beard and tattoos. What every girl who’s been with the complete opposite guy thinks. This guy is what I’ve been looking for. A real man and someone who will take care of me. Well he did take care of us and also took most of who I was as a person for a long time.

Let’s get it straight. I could have left I could have called the police I could have done lots of things But I didn’t. I stayed for 11 years and married him and apart from the emotional and physical abuse on more than several occasions life was good for myself and my daughter.

THIS WAS MY PERCEPTION ON MY LIFE AND NO ONE COULD TELL ME ANY DIFFERENT.

As my daughter got older and started to become a teenager their relationship was just like any girl and her father. She had her son at 19 and he was a great support to her. My relationship with him never got better and in 2014 we finally sold our house and separated. Me single and living alone since. NEVER had I lived alone in my life.

Living alone.

So it’s 2014, I’m 42 and I’ve just moved into my 1st ever place alone. I’m a big girl now and about to embark on a journey that will take me places (mentally and spiritually) I never knew were possible. Work is going well as I have a really good career and apart from my weight I’m happy. I’ve been talking online to a guy and although it’s not ideal, it’s right for me at this stage. He is Ghanaian and YES I had him investigated and he is legit and I’m learning new ways of being all the time. Now don’t get me wrong I’m not stupid and am very aware of internet scams. Needless to say I traveled to Ghana alone in 2015 and had the most wonderful time with him and have been going back and forth since then. My last visit was in 2018 and was most likely my last. Also an end to my relationship.

Published by kathymiller72

Single in my late 40s and living a life that I love.

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

  1. This sounds interesting. Looking forward to reading more of your blog. Also, I wrote a book in 2016 called The Unhappy Wife. I hope you don’t mind me leaving the link, in case you’re interested: kegarland.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Movies of the Soul

Vampire Bat reviews worthy movies

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

K E Garland

Inspirational kwotes, stories and images

Joseyphina's World

Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

When Women Inspire

Inspiring Women in Business, Health & Lifestyle

Live Laugh RV

Our Next Chapter

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

The Tea Cerebrations

Thoughts inspired by tea

One Chance to See the World

Insta @onechancetoseetheworld

The Traveling Gingerbread

travel tales and brewery trails

The Partying Traveler

Survival of the Littest

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

Hey it’s me Kathy

Being enough the way you are

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Being enough the way you are

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started